Guest Speaker: Uton Robinson and Gina Iuliano Marrello
Location:  The National Club
Host:  The Youth  Initiatives' Committee 
Topic:  2019 Youth Rotary Toronto Merit Awards
Rotary Merit Awards presented by:
Uton Robinson, Executive Superintendent, Toronto District School Board 
Vision and passion are key components of leadership. For over thirty years, Uton has had the honour and excitement of working with our students and parents, our dedicated support and teaching staff, partners in education, our richly diverse communities , our school trustees and the Toronto Polices Services to foster and celebrate learning in the City of Toronto. Uton has had the opportunity to serve as a Superintendent of Education in the Scarborough Malvern community, as System Superintendent for Caring and Safe Schools, Executive Superintendent for Special Education and Section 23 programs.  As a member of the Senior Team, he was entrusted with the task of ensuring that all our students benefit from the opportunity and optimism that effective public education offers. In his current role as Executive Superintendent he has the responsibilities for Continuing Education, Alternative Education, Adult Education, Educational Partnerships, Summer Programs and International Languages. He has had the opportunity to work in collaboration with a variety of people to support and promote school cultures that encourages equitable success for all learners.
Gina Iuliano Marrello, Superintendent of Student Success for Toronto Catholic District School Board
In this role, she has focused on promoting culturally responsive pedagogy, effective assessment practices, and experiential learning opportunities in order to meet the individual needs of students. Prior to this portfolio, Gina was a Field Superintendent for schools in the northwest quadrant of the city. As Numeracy Coordinator for five years and as a school administrator, Gina collaborated with other educators to promote numeracy across the curriculum as well as to develop STEAM programs that provide students with an integrated learning experience. 
          Congratulations to the Award Recipients: 
          Naod Abraham (Grade 11 - St. Mary’s Catholic Secondary School)
          Leyla Abdolell (Grade 12 -  Subway Academy II)
          Christine Maicong (Grade 12 - St. Patrick Secondary School)
          Sophia Nguyen (Grade 12 - Subway Academy II)
          Kiara Pereira (Grade 12 - St. Patrick Secondary School)
          Josea Rain Idio (Grade 12 - Central Technical School)
          Mehregan Saffari (Grade 12 - Central Technical School)